Nebraska Authors

Marion Marsh Brown

Born 1908-07-22 Brownville, NE (USA)

Died 2001-02-26
Omaha, NE (USA)

First published at age 10, Brown was recognized as one of the state's top writers, writing mostly about Nebraska subjects for children.

Places Lived

Brownville, NE
Peru, NE
Lincoln, NE
Omaha, NE

Author Of

  • Fiction
  • Nonfiction
  • Journalism


Native American History; Literature for Children; Prairie Life; Willa Cather


High School Diploma, Auburn High School, Auburn, NE
Bachelor of Arts Degree, 1927, Peru State Teachers College, Peru, NE
Master of Arts Degree, 1930, Peru State Teachers College, Peru, NE
Graduate Studies, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN


Teacher in Nebraska High Schools
Assistant Professor, Professor of English, University of Omaha, Omaha, NE (1954-1968)

Places Worked

University of Omaha, Omaha, NE
Peru State College, Peru, NE


John H. Ames Reading Series, Featured Reader, 18 April 1996
Nine of her books have won national recognition from organizations such as Boys' Clubs of America, Book of the Month Club, National Press Women and the Catholic Children's Book Club
Honored at 4th Annual Omaha YMCA's 'Tribute to Women,' 1991


Member of Nebraska Writers Guild for over 50 years


Young Nathan. 1949.
Swamp Fox. 1950.
Frontier Beacon. 1953.
Stuart's Landing: A Story of Pioneer Nebraska. 1953.
Broad Stripes and Bright Stars. 1955.
Prairie Teacher. 1957.
Learning Words in Context. 1961.
Learning Words in Context. Teacher's Key, 1961
Silent Storm. with Ruth Crone, 1963.
Nurse Abroad. 1963.
Willa Cather: The Woman and Her Works. with Ruth Crone, 1970.
Marnie. 1971.
The Pauper Prince: A Story of Hans Christian Andersen. 1973.
The Brownville Story. 1974.
Little Schoolhouse on the Prairie. 1976.
Homeward the Arrow's Flight. 1980.
Only One Point of the Compass: Willa Cather in the Northeast. with Ruth Crone, 1980.
Dreamcatcher: The Life of John Neihardt. 1983.
The Silent Storm. 1985.
Sacajewea. 1988.
Singapore. 1989.
A Bushel and a Peck: A Peck of Common Sense is Worth a Bushel of Learning. 1989.
Susette La Flesche. 1992.
The Christmas Lamp. 1994.
Homeward the Arrow's Flight: The Story of Susan La Flesche, (Dr. Susan La Flesche Picotte). Revised Edition, 1995.

Marion Marsh Brown's Ames Reading Series presentation in April 1996:

We appreciate corrections and additions to our information about authors, but please read the following guidelines and caveats carefully.

  • The Nebraska Authors database is based on publicly available sources. Unless you are the author contacting us in person, it helps us if you cite the source or sources of your information. We cannot include unsourced information in the database.
  • We may be appreciative of information we choose not to include in the publicly available database.
  • To include an image on an author profile, please send jpg attachment to nebraskaauthors@lincoln.ne.gov. A photo-release agreement is required before the image will be published on this site.
  • Because of the way we are staffed, expect corrections or additions to take time, sometimes up to three months.
  • While we initially included some actual links to external URLs in the database, we will in the future no longer provide functioning links. We will instead record the presence of specific external materials in language that we hope will help intelligent users find it themselves. Web rot, in which actual materials remain online but undergo changes in their URLs, is too demanding in terms of staff time for us to hope to keep external links current.

Please copy, fill out the form below, and email it to NebraskaAuthors@lincoln.ne.gov to suggest a change.

Marion Marsh Brown

Do you have corrections for the above information or other information to add?:

(e.g. Author is buried in Fremont, not in David City / Also wrote for the Daily Nebraskan during her time as a student)