Nebraska Authors

Margaret Keilstrup

AKA: pseud. M.K. Lorens, Margaret Lawrence

Born 1945-02-23 Fremont, NE (USA)

Died 2012-01-12
Fremont, NE

Margaret Keilstrup moved from writing stage plays and writing for television and feature film, to writing popular mystery novel series, mostly under her pseudonym M.K. Lorens. Her mysteries were finalists for the Edgar, Agatha and Anthony Awards. The Malady was produced for NETV. Keilstrup wrote an episode for the television series The Equalizer and is the creator of the Winston Sherman Mystery Series. A staged reading of her work was presented at New York's Shakespearean Festival Public Theater.

She also wrote under the pen name Margaret Lawrence. As Margaret Lawrence she was nominated for the Edgar, Agatha, Anthony, and Macavity Awards for Blood Red Roses.

"Although I have lived and worked elsewhere for periods of time, Fremont has always been my permanent residence, and still is."

Places Lived

Fremont, NE
Lincoln, NE
New York, NY
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Hays, KS

Author Of

  • Fiction
  • Play/Screenplay
  • Other


Stage Plays; Mysteries; Television Scripts; Feature Films; Historical Suspense


BA, Midland Lutheran College
MA and Ph.D., University of Nebraska-Lincoln



Places Worked

New York Shakespeare Festival Theatre
Hudson Guild Theatre
Universal Studios
McCall's Magazine
Bantam Doubleday Dell Publishers
Fort Hays Kansas State College
Midland College
Omaha Playhouse


Won a prize from the Omaha Community Playhouse where her play 'The Passion of Martin Crown' was produced
Finalist-Susan Smith Blackburn International Drama Prize, for the play 'Wonderland' performed off-Broadway by the Hudson Guild Theater
Woodrow Wilson Fellow
Regents Dissertation Fellow
Featured reader as M.K. Lorens in the John H. Ames Reading Series October 21, 1993.


The Malady: The Passion of Martin Crown. 1976.
Sweet Narcissus. 1989. (as M.K. Lorens)
Ropedancer's Fall. 1990. (as M.K. Lorens)
Deception Island. 1990. (as M.K. Lorens)
Dreamland. 1992. (as M.K. Lorens)
Sorrowheart. 1993. (as M.K. Lorens)
The Very Dread of Winter. 1994. (as M.K. Lorens)

Under pseudonym Margaret Lawrence:
Hearts and Bones. 1996.
Blood Red Roses. 1997.
The Burning Bride. 1998.
The Ice Weaver. 2000.
Roanoke: A Novel of Elizabethan Intrigue. 2009.

Her October 1993 Ames Reading and interview is available to view:

We appreciate corrections and additions to our information about authors, but please read the following guidelines and caveats carefully.

  • The Nebraska Authors database is based on publicly available sources. Unless you are the author contacting us in person, it helps us if you cite the source or sources of your information. We cannot include unsourced information in the database.
  • We may be appreciative of information we choose not to include in the publicly available database.
  • To include an image on an author profile, please send jpg attachment to nebraskaauthors@lincoln.ne.gov. A photo-release agreement is required before the image will be published on this site.
  • Because of the way we are staffed, expect corrections or additions to take time, sometimes up to three months.
  • While we initially included some actual links to external URLs in the database, we will in the future no longer provide functioning links. We will instead record the presence of specific external materials in language that we hope will help intelligent users find it themselves. Web rot, in which actual materials remain online but undergo changes in their URLs, is too demanding in terms of staff time for us to hope to keep external links current.

Please copy, fill out the form below, and email it to heritage@lincoln.ne.gov to suggest a change.

Margaret Keilstrup

Do you have corrections for the above information or other information to add?:

(e.g. Author is buried in Fremont, not in David City / Also wrote for the Daily Nebraskan during her time as a student)