Nebraska Authors

Brandon Sanderson

Born 1975 Lincoln, NE (USA)

Well-known fantasy and science fiction author, Sanderson was born and grew up in Lincoln. His books have won numerous awards and nominations. He won the Hugo Award for best novella in 2013 for The Emperor's Soul. When writer Robert Jordan died in 2007, Sanderson was chosen by that author's widow to finish Jordan's Wheel of Time series.

The bibliography below will be incomplete. To bibliographers, Sanderson may seem either a particular afficionado or possible victim of the science fiction and fantasy genre's liking (now much reinforced by the commercial compulsion of publishers) for putting books in a series, or for announcing a new series (in potential) with the publication of a single work. Alloy of Law (now Mistborn: Alloy of Law) was originally a stand-alone book, but is now the first in a (planned) tetralogy, with three works published. Much of Sanderson's short fiction fits into his series.

Places Lived

Lincoln, NE
Orem, UT
Provo, UT
American Fork, UT

Author Of

  • Fiction


Fantasy; Science Fiction


High School Diploma, 1994, Lincoln East High School, Lincoln, NE
Bachelor of Arts Degree in English, 2000, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT
Master of Arts Degree in English, 2004, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT



Places Worked

Brigham Young University, Provo, UT


Nebraska 150 Books honor for The Rithmatist, 2017
Numerous Awards for his books


This is a partial listing:

Elantris. 2005.

Mistborn Original Series:
Mistborn: The Final Empire. 2006.
Mistborn: Well of Ascension. 2007.
Mistborn: Hero of the Ages. 2008.

Mistborn second series AKA Mistborn Second Era, or Wax and Wayne series:
Mistborn: The Alloy of Law. 2011.
Mistborn: Shadows of Self. 2015.
Mistborn: The Bands of Mourning. 2016.
Mistborn: The Lost Metal. 2018.

Alcatraz Series (5 books)
Alcatraz Versus the Scrivener's Bones. 2008.

Stormlight Archive Series:
The Gathering Storm. 2009. (as co-author and successor to the late Robert Jordan)
The Ways of Kings . 2010.
Words of Radiance. 2014.
The Emperor's Soul. 2012. (novella)

Warbreaker. 2009.

Infinity Blade Series (2 books published)
Legion Series (2 books published)
Reckoners Series (Three books and novella published)

The Rithmatist. 2013. (now considered the first in a planned series)

Many shorter works

We appreciate corrections and additions to our information about authors, but please read the following guidelines and caveats carefully.

  • The Nebraska Authors database is based on publicly available sources. Unless you are the author contacting us in person, it helps us if you cite the source or sources of your information. We cannot include unsourced information in the database.
  • We may be appreciative of information we choose not to include in the publicly available database.
  • To include an image on an author profile, please send jpg attachment to nebraskaauthors@lincoln.ne.gov. A photo-release agreement is required before the image will be published on this site.
  • Because of the way we are staffed, expect corrections or additions to take time, sometimes up to three months.
  • While we initially included some actual links to external URLs in the database, we will in the future no longer provide functioning links. We will instead record the presence of specific external materials in language that we hope will help intelligent users find it themselves. Web rot, in which actual materials remain online but undergo changes in their URLs, is too demanding in terms of staff time for us to hope to keep external links current.

Please copy, fill out the form below, and email it to NebraskaAuthors@lincoln.ne.gov to suggest a change.

Brandon Sanderson

Do you have corrections for the above information or other information to add?:

(e.g. Author is buried in Fremont, not in David City / Also wrote for the Daily Nebraskan during her time as a student)